How to increase length of test case title from database ?

Ask community to help.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

How to increase length of test case title from database ?

Postby bparkash » Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:56 am

Hi All

I am facing problems while creating test cases as "Test Case Title" field is accepting only 100 characters and i need to enter more than that so could anyone please let me know how to increase length from backend. I really need help on this and please let me any solution ASAP.

Thanks in advance.
bparkash
TestLink user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:26 am

Re: How to increase length of test case title from database

Postby mstark » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:43 pm

bparkash wrote:Hi All

I am facing problems while creating test cases as "Test Case Title" field is accepting only 100 characters and i need to enter more than that so could anyone please let me know how to increase length from backend. I really need help on this and please let me any solution ASAP.

Thanks in advance.


Was this ever answered/resolved? I'm looking to do the same thing. I see that there was a workaround for this in 1.8 but the fields have changed. Something is still truncating the new test case names.

Reference for 1.8: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3093

To allow 255 characters to be typed in to the UI:
Edit: input_dimensions.conf
[tcNew]
TESTCASE_NAME_SIZE=50
TESTCASE_NAME_MAXLEN=255

To allow 255 characters to be stored into mssql:
ALTER TABLE [dbo].nodes_hierarchy
ALTER COLUMN name [nvarchar](255)
mstark
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:41 pm

Re: How to increase length of test case title from database

Postby willfriedMatter » Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:33 am

I did it under testlink 1.9.7 (test case name lenth increasing from 100 to 125 carac.)

  1. Mysql : alter table testlink.nodes_hierarchy modify name VARCHAR(125);
  2. input_dimensions.conf : TESTCASE_NAME_MAXLEN=125
  3. const.inc.php : $g_field_size->testcase_name = 125;

It seems that the TESTCASE_NAME_MAXLEN is dedicated to limit the length in the form.
The $g_field_size limits the length while importing
Last edited by TurboPT on Sat Aug 10, 2013 2:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Correct the list for proper display
willfriedMatter
TestLink user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 9:20 pm


Return to Installation and configuration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest