BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Ask community to help.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby rajeevanand » Thu May 31, 2012 10:03 am

Hi

I am trying to configure Testlink 1.9.3 on host x to talk to bugzilla on host y.

Please note both testlink db and bugzilla db are 'postgres'. Not that it should matter.

With the initial configuration as per testlink 1.7.3 documentation, I'm able to see the bug icon. On clicking the icon a popup is displayed to enter the bug number.

When I enter a bug number and click Add Bug, the following error page is displayed:

---------------------------------------
==============================================================================
DB Access Error - debug_print_backtrace() OUTPUT START
==============================================================================
#0 database->exec_query(SELECT bug_status FROM bugs.bugs WHERE bug_id=85204) called at [C:\BitNamiWAPPStack\apache2\htdocs\testlink\lib\bugtracking\int_bugzilla.php:167]
#1 bugzillaInterface->checkBugID_existence(85204) called at [C:\BitNamiWAPPStack\apache2\htdocs\testlink\lib\execute\bugAdd.php:39]

==============================================================================
Add bug report
Bug ID does not exist on BTS!

Access to Bug Tracking System (Bugzilla)

Bugzilla Bug id
---------------------------------------

Can someone help please.

Thanks
Rajeev
Participate and help people become better testers
http://www.softwaretestingconcepts.com
rajeevanand
Advanced user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Bangalore, INDIA

Re: BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby TurboPT » Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:16 am

I have helped others with a two host, Bugzilla MySQL-based config.

I know you said "postgres", but the situation is probably similar in nature. Basically, the Bugzilla host must allow the other host to access the DB "remotely", and that is what probably needs to be configured for your postgres.
TurboPT
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am

Re: BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby rajeevanand » Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:53 am

I am able to remotely connect and execute queries on bugzilla db from testlink host using a psql client session. Any thoughts?

Thanks
Participate and help people become better testers
http://www.softwaretestingconcepts.com
rajeevanand
Advanced user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Bangalore, INDIA

Re: BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby rajeevanand » Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:27 am

I remember this used to work well with Testlink 1.7.4 when I used it in another company. It used to work without these additional entries. I need to get this working as I have sold the benefits of Testlink very strongly to my management and the option to tie in a bug number to a failed test was one of the features they were impressed with.

Your help will be much appreciated.

Thanks
Participate and help people become better testers
http://www.softwaretestingconcepts.com
rajeevanand
Advanced user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Bangalore, INDIA

Re: BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby TurboPT » Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:05 pm

rajeevanand wrote:I am able to remotely connect and execute queries on bugzilla db from testlink host using a psql client session. Any thoughts?

Thanks

I'm not 100% sure, as I haven't worked with postgres in a LONG, LONG time...

I don't know how the psql works or what special ports [if any] might be in play? I just noted in the original post where the message had: "DB Access Error", which leads me to believe connectivity-related restrictions. [which could include port settings, firewalls, and so on...]

What might be different between how the psql connects, and the settings to connect to BZ?
Are the users the same, are the allowed hosts the same, etc...?
TurboPT
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am

Re: BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby rajeevanand » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:01 pm

It's not very different. You use psql -h hostname -U username dbname to connect. Once you login, SQL remains the same.

And yes, I'm using the same user and since I'm able to login to bugzilla DB remotely from testlink host using command line, it means that there is no restriction on that host.

Looking at bugzilla.cfg.php, one thing I couldn't see was a variable to set the DB port. Is it trying to assume that bugzilla runs a mysql db with default port 3306 by any chance? Just wondering.
--------------
//Set the bug tracking system Interface
/** DB host to use when connecting to the Bugzilla db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST]');

/** name of the database that contains the Bugzilla tables */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_NAME', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_NAME]');

/** charset of the database that contains the Bugzilla tables */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_CHARSET', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_CHARSET]');

/** useful if you have several schemas see BUGID 1444*/
// define('BUG_TRACK_DB_SCHEMA', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_SCHEMA]');

/** DB type used for the bugtracking db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_TYPE','[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_TYPE]');

/** DB user and password to use for connecting to the Bugzilla db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_USER', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_USER]');
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_PASS', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_USER_PASS]');

/** link of the web server */
define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://[bugzillaserver]/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=");

/** link to the bugtracking system, for entering new bugs */
define('BUG_TRACK_ENTER_BUG_HREF',"http://[bugzillaserver]/bugzilla/");
--------------
Can anyone else from your team help please? I need to fix this to work with Postgres.

Thanks
Participate and help people become better testers
http://www.softwaretestingconcepts.com
rajeevanand
Advanced user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Bangalore, INDIA

Re: BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby rajeevanand » Mon Jun 04, 2012 4:05 pm

Ok. This seemed to work.

I uncommented and added the schema owner in:
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_SCHEMA', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_SCHEMA]');

Secondly, I commented out:
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_CHARSET', '[CONFIGURE_BUG_TRACK_DB_CHARSET]');

Our db charset is SQL_ASCII which probably isn't supported by testlink.

Now the bug number is stored.

However, on the Failed tests report, not sure, why the Bugs column is still empty, despite adding a bug and saving execution.

Any ideas ?

Thanks
Participate and help people become better testers
http://www.softwaretestingconcepts.com
rajeevanand
Advanced user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Bangalore, INDIA

Re: BUGZILLA - Error adding bug number on Testlink 1.9.3

Postby TurboPT » Tue Jun 05, 2012 3:03 am

For the charset, you might [NOT saying that you do] need the iconv.so extention in PHP.
See this post where someone needed it for a postgresql 9.1 installation.

For the other part, check the Testlink logs and events for any possible clues. [could be a different issue somewhere]
Also check the server logs for any access-related errors.
TurboPT
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am


Return to Installation and configuration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests