Page 1 of 1

Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 8:50 am
by Julien
Hello,

When I try to use getTestCasesForTestPlan like this:

Code: Select all
$data["devKey"] = constant("DEV_KEY");
$data['testplanid'] = 53;
            
if(!$client->query('tl.getTestCasesForTestPlan', $data))
{
     echo "\n something went really wrong - pour " . $client->getErrorCode() . " - ". $client->getErrorMessage();   
}   
      
else
{
    $response = $client->getResponse();
    print_r($response);
    new dbug ($response);
}   


I have for result :
something went really wrong -32700 - parse error. not well formed


if I want a good response I must put $data['testcaseid'] = 83 (with devKey and testplanid) but I can see in the doc that 'testcaseid' is optional.

Code: Select all
struct        $args:      
string      $args["devKey"]:     
int      $args["testplanid"]:     
int      $args["testcaseid"]:     - optional
int      $args["buildid"]:     - optional
int      $args["keywordid"]:     - optional
boolean      $args["executed"]:     - optional
int      $args["$assignedto"]:     - optional
string      $args["executestatus"]:     - optional


I use testlink 1.8.5

Why I must add 'testcaseid' too? Can you explain me ?

Re: Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 3:41 pm
by fman
1. no info about TestLink version used
2. test on 1.9 beta 4 using provided PHP examples

Re: Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:11 am
by Julien
Ok I will test on 1.9 beta 4

PS: In my first post, I have wrote the version used (1.8.5 )

Thanks

Re: Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:54 am
by fman
no fixes are planned fo branch 1.8.x
next time put tl version on post title this make easier to give wrong answers when we have limited time.
examples exists also for 1.8.x

Re: Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 4:27 pm
by brianj
Yep, I ran into this same issue too, and there are several other commands that have the same problem.

The problem with giving the advice to use 1.9b4 though is that 1.9b4 is badly broken and unusable.

Re: Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 5:38 pm
by fman
I do not accept your last post, because after 2000 downloads of 1.9 beta 4 , we do not have not all people saying is completely unusable and broken.

Several Alternatives:
1. people has dowloaded it, and because is just trash immediately have deleted it from his/her disk and want to waste no time to blame us.
2. people do not use the features you use.
3. you have some problems that are not willing to explain in detail, then do not giving us possibility to fix it.
4. add all others if you want.

Critics are welcomed when are usefull, your last post is useless at least IMHO.

We have giving you as much support as possible.

There are at least 20 examples written on PHP that are distributed with TL, and work.

Sorry very much if you will not use TL anymore

Re: Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 8:33 pm
by brianj
Fman,

Calm down. By your *own* admission, 1.9b4 is too unstable to use. That is what you said to me when I suggested you update your demo site with that version, so that we can help you reproduce these problems. That's why it's called "beta" right? So why are you suggesting that people switch to that version for their serious production work?

In any case, you've kind of put us in an impossible position as users, because every bug we report, isn't a bug because:

a) your 20 example PHP examples work
b) 2000 people have downloaded it and nobody has reported it yet
c) we are not using the latest beta version of Testlink in our production workplace environments.

When we here loaded 1.9b4 (briefly, before people got upset and demanded that we immediately revert back) it look me about 5min to discover that "createTestcase" crashed everytime. So I guess the 2000 download-so-it-must-be-stable logic didn't apply in that case?

I would like nothing better than to help you guys nail these problems, and help provide some working, tested, documented python example code. It would help me because I'd be able to more easily automate our testcases without having to resport to things like Selenium or PywinAuto. And it would help you guys with stability and adoption of this stuff. But honestly you're making it really difficult...

Re: Need help with getTestCasesForTestPlan

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 9:47 pm
by fman
>> That is what you said to me when I suggested you update your demo site with that version, so that we can help you reproduce these problems.
as stated in one reply, you can be able to give us details to reproduce issues, without the need of a demo site.

>> So why are you suggesting that people switch to that version for their serious production work?
we have never suggest to use on production, just that we will not do any new work on branch 1.8.5, then is better for us have reports
on what will be next version

>> In any case, you've kind of put us in an impossible position as users, because every bug we report, isn't a bug because:
>> a) your 20 example PHP examples work
>> b) 2000 people have downloaded it and nobody has reported it yet
>> c) we are not using the latest beta version of Testlink in our production workplace environments.
unfortunately seems my post was not clear.
Waht i've said is:
- try with our php examples, because we can not do test with python
- you said TL is just pure scrap, while people continue to download it, test it, found some good things and some bugs.
- nobody said you have to install in production, was your choice.

>> When we here loaded 1.9b4 (briefly, before people got upset and demanded that we immediately revert back) it look me about 5min to discover >> that "createTestcase" crashed everytime.
fix to this issue has been posted on mantis at least a couple of days ago.

>> So I guess the 2000 download-so-it-must-be-stable logic didn't apply in that case?
again nobody have said is stable, just is not what you have described.


>> I would like nothing better than to help you guys nail these problems, and help provide some working, tested, documented python example code.
Well, then you can open an issue on mantis and upload your work, to be shared with comunity

>> It would help me because I'd be able to more easily automate our testcases without having to resport to things like Selenium or PywinAuto. And it >> would help you guys with stability and adoption of this stuff. But honestly you're making it really difficult...
Great sentence, very helpful.

Please if you plan to continue using TL, try to report issues on mantis with good details.