API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Discussion and information for XML-RPC interface.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Postby Cedi1987 » Mon Jan 07, 2013 11:55 am

Hi Testlink Team,

I'm trying to get the custom field values for my testcases/testplans, but I'm not sure with which parameters I have to supplie the functions.
In addition I'm unsing platforms, so I'm populating the custom field values while Testplan design.

thx in advance and best regards,

Cedric
Cedi1987
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:40 am

Re: API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Postby fman » Mon Jan 07, 2013 2:32 pm

all the documentation you need is inside the xml server class
in addition we have provided client*.php files for all methods
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3021
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Postby Cedi1987 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:05 am

Frist, thanks for your quick reply and for your hint regarding the client*.php files.

Unfortunatly there is only one example(getTestCaseCustomfieldonDesignLVL) but i would need the parameters for ...ontestplandesign with platforms.

I also read you comments in the xml server class, but I'm not quite sure what the "linkid" should be and if the comments are correct because there is an argument($args["testcaseid"]) but the description states "project id".

FYI I'm using 1.9.5

Hope you can help me, thx in advance,


Cedric
Cedi1987
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:40 am

Re: API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Postby fman » Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:43 am

only way to try to help is have A FULL DETAIL that what you need to do, and till know your post do not provide it.
You have to explain everything:
have the custom field is configured
how you do same operation via GUI
etc
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3021
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Postby Cedi1987 » Tue Jan 08, 2013 10:14 am

Ok than I'll try to give you all information:

I need to create about 20 different testplans of one testproject. the testproject has about 30 different platforms and 100 testcases.
Each testplan has 20 different customfields which i want to populate while testplan design.
Each testcase has one customfield "expected result" which i want to populate while testplan design and one customfield "result" which should be populated while execution.
For each platform i want so select different testcases which will have different values for "expected result".

The customfield "expacted result" is available for testcases, enabled for "testplandesign" and "display on testexecution" is true.
The customfield "result" is available for testcases and enabled for "execution".
All customfields for the Testplans are visible on testexecution.

In addition all testcases are set to "automated".

Thats how my testlink design looks like at the moment.

What I want to do:

I'm using a c# application, where the user should select the name of the testplan and all information(testplancustomfields,platforms, platform linked testcases, customfields for the testcases) should be gathered via testlink api and the c# wrapper, which I'm developing at the moment. Next the application should start different tests dependent on the selected tests, platforms and values of the customfields and write the results back to testlink.

At the moment I'm able to get all information needed, beside values of the customfields for the testcases.

When I'm calling the function "getTestCaseCustomFieldTestPlanDesignValue(devkey, testprojectid, version, customfieldname, testplanid, platformid)" in my c# code, the response is an rmxrpcstruct with 18 different keys(id,name,lable, type, possible values,....value and nodeid).
All the values of these keys are correct, beside "value" and "nodeid"...these two are empty.

So I guess I'm using some wrong parameters? Is this problem related to my usage of platforms?

Hope now you have enought information to help me.

Thanks,

Cedric
Cedi1987
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:40 am

Re: API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Postby fman » Tue Jan 08, 2013 4:36 pm

a better simple test case is needed, not done with your real figures (i.e 20 custom fields)

There are missing pieces, one regards how you have filled the custom fields, without this info I will need to do lot of exploratory work, to try to match your environment.
Configure on your system a test scenario using just ONE TEST CASE, and ONE CUSTOM FIELD and provide ABSOLUTELY each step
you do in order to allow me to try to reproduce.

Because this can be an issue, please register on mantis and provide ALL requested info there.
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3021
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: API: which parameters for getCustomField functions?

Postby Cedi1987 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 7:01 am

Hi,

do you really think this could be an issue?

I think I'm just using wrong parameters for the "getTestCaseCustomFieldTestPlanDesignValue".
As I wrote before now I'm using the parameters:
devkey
testprojectid....testproject.ID
version....testcase.tcversion_id
customfieldname....customfieldname
testplanid....testplan.id
platformid....testcase.platform_id

I'm not sure if these parameters are correct.

When you could check, if I'm right it would be awesome. If I'm wrong please provide the correct parameters for the function.

If these parameters are right, I'll do what you suggested before and open an issue on mantis.

thanks a lot
Cedi1987
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:40 am


Return to XML-RPC API



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

cron