How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

LATEST Official version.
Questions and discussions - NO ISSUES
FOR ISSUES => http://mantis.testlink.org

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

Postby tjosephine » Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:18 pm

In TestLink 1.9.15, when a test case is failed, we can add a note.
But sometimes the size of the Notes is not adequat.

Please, is it possible to make the Notes area bigger like in blue in the picture below, so all the space can be used?
By default when we want to see the Notes, we get the size in orange.

Thanks

Image
tjosephine
Advanced user
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

Postby TurboPT » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:14 pm

Many browsers nowadays allow the textarea to be resized. Typically the lower-right corner (sometimes below the vertical scroll bar, if one is present) where the area can be dragged (expanded or reduced) to desired size.

I see this on my machine for the notes at test execution, but I'm not sure that this is the same "notes" area that you mentioned?
Image
TurboPT
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am

Re: How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

Postby tjosephine » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:38 pm

Hi TurboPT,
Yes there is the possibility to increase the size by clicking on the lower-right corner (as you mentioned with the Notes/Description area).
Unfortunately this feature is not enabled when displaying the Text Execution Notes!
I don't know how to enable it for the Notes.
tjosephine
Advanced user
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

Postby TurboPT » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:47 pm

Can you post a screenshot of the notes area that you mention, so that I can be sure that I'm looking at the same area?

Feel free to "blur out" any textual details, as long as the general screen layout remains viewable.

UPDATE:
I did find a CSS property affecting the test execution notes.

Is it only you that would need to be able to resize that area?

If so, what browser do you typically use? I can give you a couple of steps in the browser to temporarily make that area show the drag corner.
Know that by "temporarily", I mean the drag corner will be active while you are at that screen (after toggling), but once you navigate away from that screen, you'll have to toggle it again. This approach could get annoying (at some point) depending upon how often a toggle would need to be done.

I'm not sure what the impact might be if the CSS property is disabled app-wide, which would be considered a custom modification.
TurboPT
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am

Re: How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

Postby tjosephine » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:29 pm

Hi,
This is the Execution Notes that I would like to see bigger.
I use Google Chrome and this possibility was requested by a group of users inside my organization.
If there is a custom modification, I will take it :)

Image
tjosephine
Advanced user
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

Postby TurboPT » Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:05 am

Ok, you can try this as a temporary CUSTOM modification for a general test.

I'm not 100% sure how this will look application-wide, BUT I do know that it will make any textarea's bottom-right drag point appear, even for textarea's that have a set size so that any textarea can be adjusted as needed. For the several areas that I checked, the textarea's appeared to be ok, even those with a set size.

Down in file: third_party/ext-js/css/ext-all.css (line 956)

Change this CSS:
Code: Select all
textarea {
    resize: none;  /* Disable browser resizable textarea */
}

...to this:
Code: Select all
textarea {
    /* resize: none; */  /* Disable browser resizable textarea */
}

Note that it may be necessary to logout and login again to reload the updated css file if you don't see any difference after applying that change.
TurboPT
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am

Re: How to increase Notes area in Text Execution

Postby tjosephine » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:53 pm

Hi TurboPT,
I tested and it works like a charm.
It will do the trick. Thank you very much !
tjosephine
Advanced user
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:01 pm


Return to TestLink 1.9



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron