Retiring a build

The release 1.6 is going to be unsupported by Community. Because our effort moves ahead. However there are still valuable informations for you.

Retiring a build

Postby mherbert » Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:51 pm

Hello all,

I am wondering if there is a way to have some builds marked as active and some builds marked as finished?

Here is our situation: we have summer co-ops executing tests. We want to have more than one build active at a time. However, we don\\\'t want the co-ops to accidentily go and change the results for an older build.

Unless I am mistaken, testlink allows the most recent build to be active, or all builds to be active ... am I correct in this assumption?

If the functionality I\\\'ve described is not possible, does anyone know if it is going to be added to a future version? If it is not is there a reason?

I would be more than willing to add the functionality myself and submit my changes as a patch. I expect it would not be too difficult....

-Matt
mherbert
TestLink user
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 7:04 pm

Postby fman » Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:00 am

--- Unless I am mistaken, testlink allows the most recent build to be
--- active, or all builds to be active ... am I correct in this assumption?
You are right

--- If the functionality I\\\\\\\'ve described is not possible, does anyone know
--- if it is going to be added to a future version?
We are planning to add some sort of Close /Freeze feature on 1.7
Please get our specs from sourceforge CVS (documents module)

--- If it is not is there a reason?
Well sometimes is only matter of time we have limited time to do
this development (i.e. we got NO MONEY for this work , as happens
in every Open Source project). Other times is simple that we have not
think about the feature.

If you can write a patch it will be welcome.

Anyway may be you can have a work around:
Let me explain:
1. Create 1 Tesplan with the SAME test cases for every co-op
2. made every test plan personal for each co-op, means co-op 1 CANT
use co-op2 Test plan.

Obviously there is a management problem, every time you want to
change/add/remove a test case you need to do this in every test plan.

I don\'t think is OK using BUILD to separate user work.
For me BUILD means Software release.

Hop this can help you

regards

Francisco
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3049
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am


Return to TestLink 1.6 (closed)



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron