Some question about localization

Discuss language related issues

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Some question about localization

Postby Libra » Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:25 pm

Hi developers!

At first, thanks for your efforts in good test managmnet software!

I have translated system to russian - the file string.txt has ANSI coding (in my case windows-1251). If I define in config.inc.php
define ('TL_TPL_CHARSET', 'windows-1251'), that the localization interface of system looks good. But the new added data with cyrillic (User Name, Test Cases etc) are not displayed (simply blank :( )!

If i decode a file string.txt in Unicode (UTF8) and define in config.inc.php define('TL_TPL_CHARSET', 'UTF-8'), Cyrillic names will be kept normally, but the localization interface is shown in the wrong coding.

Question - how it is possible to make high-grade support UTF-8?

Version TestLink - 1.6.2

Thanks for attention!
Libra
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Moscow/Kiev

Postby havlatm » Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:09 pm

I recommend to use UTF-8 because we will suppport it in future. You must have UTF-8 both strings and database data. See config guide how to translate db too.
havlatm
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:24 am
Location: Czech

Postby Libra » Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:19 pm

havlatm wrote:I recommend to use UTF-8 because we will suppport it in future. You must have UTF-8 both strings and database data. See config guide how to translate db too.

Excuse for a silly question, but what "translate db too" means? My mysql base now in UTF8 coding (utf8_general_ci collation)...
Libra
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Moscow/Kiev

Postby havlatm » Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:35 pm

I'm sorry my unclear answer. Both strings and db must be in one encoding.
Both windows-1251 or both UTF-8.
Are you sure that you correctly translate strings to UTF-8?

You can add the file as attachment.
havlatm
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:24 am
Location: Czech

Postby Libra » Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:47 pm

Thanks for attention to this problem!
My translated file is attached...
Libra
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Moscow/Kiev

Postby Libra » Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:53 pm

Libra wrote:My translated file is attached...

Hm... I don't know why, but I cannot attache file in the message. I tried to attache as a text file and as zip archive...
Libra
TestLink user
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 1:05 pm
Location: Moscow/Kiev


Return to Localization and terminology



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests