Display "custom fields" in Navigation panel.

1.8 related questions and discussions.
Please upgrade to LATEST 1.9.x.
No more fixes for 1.8.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Display "custom fields" in Navigation panel.

Postby Robertp » Wed Oct 22, 2008 10:50 am

I installed TL 1.8 beta 3 and evaluating the product for use in our test. Very satisfied so long.

I defined three custom fields namely X, Y and Z; Numeric, List, and TextArea type. All the three are checked for "Display on
test execution".

I would like to use X and Y in the left hand navigation panel filter for EXECUTE tab.
and for "Z" I would like to use wildcard characters in the navigation search panel.

Wondering how can I achieve this (if it is possible at all) ?

Thanks in advance.
Robertp
Advanced user
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:27 pm
Location: norway

Postby havlatm » Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:12 pm

I think that it could be implemented for "list" or numeric type. But we must be careful about performance. Generic CF filter could exhaust usability in some case.
havlatm
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:24 am
Location: Czech

Postby Robertp » Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:23 pm

Of course yes, functionality is never free (there is always a price tag).
Performance factor is understood, (good thing is that its optional to have custom fields)

Do I have to register a new issue in tracker or there is any other solution ???

thanks for the feedback.
Robertp
Advanced user
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:27 pm
Location: norway

Postby havlatm » Wed Oct 22, 2008 1:52 pm

Check if it exists and add your design proposal and remarks. Otherwise insert a new one.
havlatm
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:24 am
Location: Czech

Postby fman » Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:10 am

custom field filter on test execution (if I'm not wrong) already exists
(contribution by Jarchibald)
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3069
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Postby Robertp » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:01 am

I found this issue

http://www.testlink.org/mantis/view.php?id=1797

May be I shall get a new cvs code ?

but does it mean that CF filter is enabled for all the custom fields now, or where do we configure it ?


thanks,
Robertp
Advanced user
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:27 pm
Location: norway

Postby fman » Thu Oct 23, 2008 1:52 pm

cf filter is enabled for CF defined to be used ON EXECUTION not on design
may be this is the problem
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3069
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Postby Robertp » Fri Oct 24, 2008 7:31 am

Seems like CF defined as Numeric or String + which satisfies criteria you mentioned, are displayed on navigation filter of Execute tab.

CF of LIST/TextArea type are NOT displayed.

unfortunately, I havent tried with other types (email/date etc)

Also wondering; is it possible to use a wildcard search in "string" CF fields ?
"*" or "%" or "?" didnt give the expected result .
neither did the simple string; it has to be a complete match.
Robertp
Advanced user
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:27 pm
Location: norway

Postby fman » Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:42 pm

instead of *, solution is do search in LIKE on strings => we need to change code
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3069
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am


Return to TestLink 1.8 (OBSOLETE => EOL)[LOCKED]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron