Howto: standard interface testing of multiple products

1.8 related questions and discussions.
Please upgrade to LATEST 1.9.x.
No more fixes for 1.8.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Howto: standard interface testing of multiple products

Postby dotNate » Tue Apr 28, 2009 7:14 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm looking for some advice on whether or not the following scenario is possible, and a recommended configuration too please...

I need to create a large number of test-cases for testing a standard interface. That part is easy. But, I need to test multiple products using the same test-cases. For example:

Suppose I have testcaseA, testcaseB, testcaseC and testcaseD. I need to perform all 4 tests on productA, productB, productC etc.

However:
- I do need to be able to review the test results on a per-product basis.
- I do have a rather large test-case database (1000+) that I want to define only once, and maintain just one copy of.

I hope this makes sense. So far, from what I've seen of testlink it is a fantastic system, does almost everything I need, it's just this last part I would like an expert opinion on please.

Thank you in advance.
dotNate
TestLink user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:51 pm

Postby amkhullar » Tue May 05, 2009 8:35 am

exec of TC against a Product means 1 Test Plan / Product.

So you can make a master copy of the TPlan and then make 4 copies from it for each product , add a custom field or a description to the Test Plan for that particular Product. Exec the TC from that Plan for that particular product.

Hope this makes sense.

Amit
amkhullar
Advanced user
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 5:36 am

Postby spacomp » Thu May 07, 2009 12:29 pm

Hope this would work fine for you...

Let there be one master Test Plan. Now follow these steps

[1] Add Test Cases to test Plan, [i.e. Add TEST CASE A,TEST CASE B,TEST CASE C and TEST CASE D
[2] Create a Build Under this Test Plan Specific to the PRODUCT A
[3] Carry out the Test Execution for this BUILD [In turn PRODUCT A]

Repeat Step 2 and 3 for PRODUCT B, PRODUCT C as well.

Finally you can extract the report with customized query.

Let me know if it works for you....

Happy TestLink User...!!!
spacomp
TestLink user
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:17 pm

Postby dotNate » Thu May 07, 2009 4:02 pm

Fantastic!

That was exactly what I was looking for, thank you!

I tried it and rest assured, worked exactly as you said it would. Thanks again, much appreciated.
dotNate
TestLink user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:51 pm


Return to TestLink 1.8 (OBSOLETE => EOL)[LOCKED]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron