Execution Order

1.8 related questions and discussions.
Please upgrade to LATEST 1.9.x.
No more fixes for 1.8.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Execution Order

Postby tbennett » Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:57 pm

When designing a Test Suite, I can move Test Cases to the bottom or top of a Test Suite, but not insert somewhere in the middle.

I thought this was a big problem, as our Test Suites change over time.

Then I discovered the Execution Order, and thought this would solve it. But apparently not, since when the Test Plan is executed, the Test Cases are listed in the order in which they were created.

How can I change the order of the Test Cases?
tbennett
Advanced user
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:50 pm

Postby shm2bk » Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:25 am

Hello
Since Testlink 1.8 you can change the order of the testcases inside the testcase Definition, by Drag and Drop.
This is very comfortable. You can move the testcases in the treeview with the mouse in the area (order) you want.
Inside the Testplan, you must change the order by another way:
Go to:
Testlink1.8: Home: Add/Remove Testcases: Execution Order
The numbers in the column [Execution Order] defines the order of the testcases inside the Testplan.
I hope this info is that what you want.
shm2bk
Advanced user
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:28 pm

Postby tbennett » Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:41 pm

Good -- I didn't know about the drag & drop action. That will solve the ordering problem.

However, just for clarification, how does specifying the Execution Order change the way the tests are actually run?
tbennett
Advanced user
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:50 pm


Return to TestLink 1.8 (OBSOLETE => EOL)[LOCKED]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests