IE8 javascript error when editing and saving test cases

1.8 related questions and discussions.
Please upgrade to LATEST 1.9.x.
No more fixes for 1.8.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

IE8 javascript error when editing and saving test cases

Postby rdeleon » Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:06 am

Loaded TL 1.8.5 on winxp pro machine to try out
IE8 advance settings set to show all errors. Prefer not to disable this setting since this is how we test our application.

***Error message on editing test case using IE8 ***

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; iOpus-I-M; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Tue, 9 Feb 2010 16:43:04 UTC


Message: Syntax error
Line: 175
Char: 22
Code: 0
URI: http://rontest2.com/lib/testcases/tcEdit.php

***Next error message upon closing previous dialog***

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; iOpus-I-M; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Tue, 9 Feb 2010 16:43:56 UTC


Message: Syntax error
Line: 175
Char: 22
Code: 0
URI: http://rontest2.com/lib/testcases/tcEdit.php


Message: 'UNLOAD_ENABLED' is undefined
Line: 225
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://rontest2.com/lib/testcases/tcEdit.php

***Error message on saving test case****

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; iOpus-I-M; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; InfoPath.1; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Tue, 9 Feb 2010 16:45:39 UTC


Message: Syntax error
Line: 175
Char: 22
Code: 0
URI: http://rontest2.com/lib/testcases/tcEdit.php


Message: 'UNLOAD_ENABLED' is undefined
Line: 225
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://rontest2.com/lib/testcases/tcEdit.php


Message: Object expected
Line: 279
Char: 2
Code: 0
URI: http://rontest2.com/lib/testcases/tcEdit.php
rdeleon
TestLink user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:01 am

Postby tbennett » Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:53 pm

I am also experiencing this.
tbennett
Advanced user
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:50 pm

Postby TurboPT » Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:07 am

I see this with FireFox too. [In FireFox, though, this appears in the error console, NOT as a popup]

There is this configurable option in the config.inc.php file:
Code: Select all
/** Enable warning on a changed content before an user leave a page */
$tlCfg->gui->checkNotSaved = FALSE;

However, the FALSE value is not getting picked-up in the template, as witnessed in the page source view:
var UNLOAD_MSG = "You will lose any unsaved changes!";
var UNLOAD_ENABLED = ; <== PROBLEM HERE w/ FALSE as the value.
var TC_EDITOR = "fckeditor";

So, to make this work right, simply change the FALSE in the config file to 0, like this:
Code: Select all
/** Enable warning on a changed content before an user leave a page */
$tlCfg->gui->checkNotSaved = 0; // FALSE;

With zero, the page source view shows:
var UNLOAD_MSG = "You will lose any unsaved changes!";
var UNLOAD_ENABLED = 0; <== Hooray! Not undefined now!
var TC_EDITOR = "fckeditor";

Using TRUE, if desired, works as expected.
TurboPT
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 331
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am

Postby tbennett » Mon Feb 22, 2010 7:38 pm

Thanks. This fixed the problem.
tbennett
Advanced user
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:50 pm

Firefox 3.6 for mac

Postby Brenda » Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:27 pm

I would also like to add to above solution, which worked for me.

I'm on Mac, using Firefox3.6 and TestLink 1.8.5.

After changing custom_config.inc.php to include the following code:
/** Enable warning on a changed content before an user leave a page */
$tlCfg->gui->checkNotSaved = 0;

I still was having issues. That is, when I tried to edit a testcase 'Steps' and 'Expected Results' would not display. I checked the firefox error console and saw a lot of warning messages. Example:

Warning: Unknown property 'zoom'. Declaration dropped.
http://<ip_address>/testlink/third_party/ext-2.0/css/ext-all.css
etc....

I then noticed if I cleared the browser cache, before opening a testcase problem would not occur. So, I set firefox up such that it checks for a new version of page every time page is loaded.

I did the following in Firefox 3.6:
Step1: Type the following into Firefox address bar: about:config
Step2: Find setting browser.cache.check_doc_frequency
Step3: Change the setting to 1

Good Luck!
Brenda
TestLink user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 7:05 pm

Re: IE8 javascript error when editing and saving test cases

Postby pydevil » Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:57 pm

Hi, i have the same problem! at version 1.9.2 we tried out to install new PHP. Then it had somehow started working without that fukking bug. After that we tried version 1.9.3 with newest PHP packages. everything went smoothly. But i'd remember with testcases bug. And voala again! what it cause? i checked the solution to disable "$tlCfg->gui->checkNotSaved = 0;" and deleted caches from IE and Firefox. Again error at saving! I need it working for all browsers. Thx
pydevil
TestLink user
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:35 am


Return to TestLink 1.8 (OBSOLETE => EOL)[LOCKED]



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron