customize report / new report

Ask community to help.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

customize report / new report

Postby Chris » Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:01 am

Hi,

I want to create a new report which is similiar to the "General Test Plan Metrics" except for two additional columns:
the estimated execution time for the test cases related to the Tester and the execution time (up to now) for the test cases related to the Tester.
I've been creating these two custom fields (CF_EXEC_TIME, CF_ESTIMATED_EXEC_TIME with the aid of customfields_for_computing_times.txt) and this works.
Then I edited the reports.cfg.php file to add a new link to my customized report. (I use TestLink 1.8.5, in the manual you can read that I have to edit resultsNavigator.php, but I think that's out of date!?)
Now I want to copy the resultsGeneral.php and edit it to get these two additional columns. (the original resultsGeneral.php shall be untouched)
But I don't know what I have to add.
Maybe somebody has already done this or something similiar to this.

Thank's,
Christoph
Chris
TestLink user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 8:34 am

Re: customize report / new report

Postby nasirimam » Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:20 am

Hey Chris,

I am using testlink 1.9 and have the same requirement of creating a new report. Could you please guide me on how to go about it? Is there guide or steps available?

Thanks,
Nasir
nasirimam
TestLink user
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:07 am

Re: customize report / new report

Postby fman » Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:53 am

To all people doing customization => please after creating and testing add issue into MANTIS with contribution to be share with community
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3063
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: customize report / new report

Postby nasirimam » Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:40 pm

Hi,

Has anybody created a new report or customized an existing report. Kindly guide us the steps for the same.


Thanks,
Nasir
nasirimam
TestLink user
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 1:07 am

Re: customize report / new report

Postby akang » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:37 pm

Hi,

I have similar request:

I am new to php and testlink.

Can anyone give me hints of where to looking for files in testlink so I can add new entries to "Test Reports and Metrics" that generate report specific to our groups need? Workflow of how the report entries works will be really nice.

Any good php book I can use to speed up my understanding of php and testlink?
I know python pretty well.

Thanks in advance,
akang
akang
Advanced user
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:36 pm

Re: customize report / new report

Postby anjups » Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:33 pm

Hi ,

Anyone please guide on how to create a new report in testlink. I tried with one report just copying the contents of another report. But when i Click on that report its trying to open in a editor.

Thanks in advance,
Anju
anjups
TestLink user
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:27 pm

Re: customize report / new report

Postby NateAZ » Tue Oct 18, 2011 4:08 pm

Did anybody ever make any progress on creating custom reports?
The logic in the script files are incredibly difficult to follow. Any tips would be appreciated.
NateAZ
TestLink user
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:43 pm

Re: customize report / new report

Postby baloch9 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:56 am

I read this somewhere on this forum and copied in into my Test Link notes, try and see if you can get your problem solved with it. Once you succeed then share your findings here so that others can benefit as well.

Creating a Custom Report in Test Link
For example, let's say you wanted to make a custom QA report and name it "QA Custom Report 1." This report is mostly based on the "Test Cases with Execution Details" built-in report. You would do the following:
1. Copy testlink/lib/results/testCasesWithCF.php to testlink/lib/results/qa1.php and modify the qa1.php file to suit your needs.
2. Copy testlink/gui/templates/results/testCasesWithCF.tpl to testlink/gui/templates/results/qa1.tpl
3. Edit your custom_config.inc.php and add a link to your qa1 report like so:
// If you create your OWN reports and add something like this:
//
// ------------------------------------------------------------
$tlCfg->reports_list['qa_custom_1'] = array(
'title' => 'link_qa_custom_1',
'url' => 'lib/results/qa1.php',
'enabled' => 'all',
'format' => 'format_html,format_xls'
);
// -----------------------------------------------------------
// Your reports WILL BE ON TOP OF standard TL Reports on left frame
//
//
4. Edit testlink/locale/en_GB/strings.txt and add a string entry for your report name like so:
// ----- cfg/reports.cfg.php -----
$TLS_link_qa_custom_1 = "QA Custom Report 1";
5. Edit any other language's strings.txt files and add your localizations as needed.
6. Restart your web server if needed.
baloch9
TestLink user
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 2:55 pm

Re: customize report / new report

Postby sn82w » Tue Oct 16, 2012 9:35 am

hi,
Am also having the same requirement to create new report/customized report for all the testplans/projects report at a time in testlink 1.8.5 version. Anyone can help me in this?
sn82w
Advanced user
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: customize report / new report

Postby archonwang1981 » Fri Mar 06, 2015 10:22 am

I hava the same problems. I create my custom execution state like "removed" and I have to create a new report for the new execution type. just like the blocked test cases report .

anyone have ideas? Thanks.
archonwang1981
Advanced user
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 7:02 am

Re: customize report / new report

Postby fman » Fri Mar 06, 2015 4:16 pm

please be kindly enough and do not report on multiple areas same question.
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3063
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am


Return to Installation and configuration



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron