Redmine integration - Create Issue FROM TestLink

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Redmine integration - Create Issue FROM TestLink

Postby mikeee » Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:06 am

I would like Testlink to create the redmine bug automatically and fill in some information.
This should not be to hard through redmines REST api.
I might find some time to get this working. Would be happy to see my code in future versions.
Is there some code doing this I could use? Is someone working on it? Are there any known obstacles on the way to get this working?

Cheers
mikeee
TestLink user
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Redmine integration - Create Issue FROM TestLink

Postby fman » Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:22 pm

It is a lot more difficult that you think, because: how do are you going to provide all info needed by BTS ( we can not implement a solution that works ONLY ON ONE SPECIFIC BTS) , like project, category, summary, details ?
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: Redmine integration - Create Issue FROM TestLink

Postby fman » Tue Oct 30, 2012 8:41 pm

fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: Redmine integration - Create Issue FROM TestLink

Postby mikeee » Fri Nov 02, 2012 5:18 pm

The API itself works and is easy to use. I did some testing through Redmine REST API and it worked like a charm.
For me It would be ok to create a Bug that contains only:
- A subject generated from Testcase-id, release and testplanname
- Message content with the testresult, the note you add and a link to the testresult in Testlink

For me that would be enough. For specials like more than one bug per test in Redmine you can do that manually.
This is all data that is availible in the current view. So why is it not availible?
mikeee
TestLink user
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Redmine integration - Create Issue FROM TestLink

Postby fman » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:22 pm

If is OK for you, good.
Please share your code to community, when will be ready.

IMHO anyway someone has to login anyway to BTS to add all info that is not possible to add (in a simple and GENERIC way) from TestLink.
I can explain only the problems I see with mantis (this is the BTS I use), like:
1. each issue has to be reported to an SPECIFIC mantis project.
How this data will be provided to mantis ?
Creating several (N) issuetracker config on mantis adding to config the mantis project ?
2. Each issue has a category, here again how TL is going to transmit this info to Mantis ?
3. What will be the issue summary ? maybe the test case title ?
4. what will be the issue details ? may be the notes, user have added to TL execution ?
5. Normally issues have other information like Custom Fields => TL will be not able to provide this info.
6. Attachments, user will need to login on mantis to provide it.

From my point of view the problem is not easy to solve, and worst in a way that can be applied to different BTS that manage
different concepts like JIRA, TRAC, BUGZILLA, MANTIS, FOGBUZ, ecc.
fman
Member of TestLink Community
 
Posts: 3062
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am


Return to Redmine



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests