How extend jira ID car number in TestLink?

LATEST Official version.
Questions and discussions - NO ISSUES
FOR ISSUES => http://mantis.testlink.org

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Post Reply
lcharton
TestLink user
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:59 pm

How extend jira ID car number in TestLink?

Post by lcharton »

Hi,
We are using JiraSoap to link our Jira bugs to TestLink.
Some Jira projects names are very long and apparently Testlink enables only 16 car for Jira ID.
Is it possible to extend the Jira ID field to 25 or 30 car?

For example :
Jira Project name : testlinkisthebesttool
Bug opened in Jira : testlinkisthebesttool-1
Limitation in testlink : testlinkisthebes (16 car)

Today it's not possible for me to add the Jira ID link in TestLink for this project.

Thanks for your answers.
fman
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 3123
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: How extend jira ID car number in TestLink?

Post by fman »

First thing to do is change field bug_id on execution_bugs table.
Then do some test to understand if we have limited INPUT size for this attribute in bugAdd form
lcharton
TestLink user
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:59 pm

Re: How extend jira ID car number in TestLink?

Post by lcharton »

Hi fman. Thanks for your answer.
I modified DB but still stuck on GUI.
I saw in bugAdd.tpl that there is some size restriction but I don't know where to modify it :

<form action="lib/execute/bugAdd.php" method="post">
<p>
<a style="font-weight:normal" target="_blank" href="{$bts_url}">
{lang_get s='link_bts_create_bug'}({$gui->interface_bugs|lower|capitalize})</a>
</p>
<p class="label">{$gui->interface_bugs|lower|capitalize} {lang_get s='bug_id'}
<input type="text" id="bug_id" name="bug_id" size="{#BUGID_SIZE#}" maxlength="{$bugIDMaxLength}"/>
</p>
<div class="groupBtn">
<input type="submit" value="{lang_get s='btn_add_bug'}" onclick="return dialog_onSubmit(bug_dialog)" />
<input type="button" value="{lang_get s='btn_close'}" onclick="window.close()" />

Could you help me to fix this?

Thanks
fman
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 3123
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: How extend jira ID car number in TestLink?

Post by fman »

go to folder gui, then templates => look for input_dimensions or something like that, where field size at GUI level are defined
lcharton
TestLink user
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 1:59 pm

Re: How extend jira ID car number in TestLink?

Post by lcharton »

Many thanks for your support.
In fact, you can find the function in int_bugtracking.php :
- Search "getBugIDMaxLength"
- Result :
/**
* return the maximum length in chars of a bug id
* @return int the maximum length of a bugID
*/
function getBugIDMaxLength()
{
return 16;

- Modify "return 16" to "return 50" (or what you need)
Post Reply