Integration jira and TestLink

LATEST Official version.
Questions and discussions - NO ISSUES
FOR ISSUES => http://mantis.testlink.org

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Post Reply
KaiO
TestLink user
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:07 am

Integration jira and TestLink

Post by KaiO »

Hello everybody,

I have an problem and I hope someone can help me to solve it.

For our quality process we search an tool which can integrate with our current jira bug tracking system and so we found TestLink. We have try it and it looks fine but we have an problem with the integration from jira and testlink.

We have tried to connect testlink with jira on the basis of the description of the TestLink documentation but the described Button to enter direct an bug to the configured bug tracking system (in our casse jira 3.13) isn't shown after an failed test case.

At first we have assumed that we have configured something wrong. We have searched in the internet and here in the forum to find solutions for our problem. We have try many suggested solutions but nothing helped to solve our problem. The Button to enter the bug isn't shown.

We use TestLink 1.9 and jira 3.13.
As in the documentation described must this version work fine together.

Our jira.cfg.php configuration (IP-Adresses, username and passwords replaced by xxx)

<?php
/**
* TestLink Open Source Project - http://testlink.sourceforge.net/
* $Id: jira.cfg.php,v 1.0 2005/10/25 17:40:56
*
*
* 20051229 - scs - added DEFINE for the DB-Type
*/

// Contributed by jbarchibald@gmail.com

//Set the bug tracking system Interface to JIRA 3.1.1
/** The DB host to use when connecting to the JIRA db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/mysql');

/** The name of the database that contains the jira tables */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_NAME', 'jiradb');

/** The DB type being used by jira */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_USER', 'xxx');

/** The DB password to use for connecting to the jira db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_PASS', 'xxx');

/** link of the web server for jira */
// define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://localhost:8080/secure/Dashboard.jspa");
define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://<IP-Adress from our jira server>/secure/Dashboard.jspa");

/** The DB type to use for connecting to the bugtracking db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_TYPE', 'mysql');

/** link to the bugtracking system, for entering new bugs */
define('BUG_TRACK_ENTER_BUG_HREF',"<IP-Adress from our jira server>/secure/CreateIssue!default.jspa");
?>

Our configuration config.inc.php
$g_interface_bugs = 'JIRA';

// do not change this
$g_bugInterfaceOn = false;
$g_bugInterface = null;

I hope someone can help to solve this problem.

Best regards

Kai
pharmmed
Advanced user
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:48 am

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by pharmmed »

hi,

there seems to be a problem in 1.9 with the jira integration.
we wanted to upgrade from 1.8.5 to 1.9 and tried to do this first on our test systems.

while everything worked fine with jira 4.3 and testlink 1.8.5 we are having problems to get it working with testlink 1.9 and we are still stuck here.
ppineda
TestLink user
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:12 am

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by ppineda »

Hi,

It may be helpful to check the logs of Testlink.
We use version 1.9 and integrated it with JIRA 4 standalone. We also encountered your issues previously (no bug icon displayed). Upon checking the logs (in our case in C:\xampp\htdocs\testlink\logs) we found errors with the database connection:

mysql_connect() [<a href='function.mysql-connect'>function.mysql-connect</a>]: Host '<our_TestLink_server>' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server - in C:\xampp\htdocs\testlink\third_party\adodb\drivers\adodb-mysql.inc.php - Line 364

Connect to Bug Tracker database fails: (interface: JIRA - Host:<our_JIRA_server> - DBName: <jira_db> - User: <db_user>) 0 -


We resolved this error by giving <our_TestLink_server> permission to access <our_JIRA_server>.

Your issue may be different from ours but I think the logs are a good start.

Hope this helps.
pharmmed
Advanced user
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:48 am

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by pharmmed »

hi, thanks for your response.

Isn't this log file the same as the event tab in testlink that shows several loggings? (Audit, Warning, Error etc...)

this log shows the following errors atm when setting a testcase as failed (which should bring up the bug-tracking link):

E_NOTICE Undefined index: g_bugInterfaceOn - in /var/www/testlinkq/testlink-1.9.2/gui/templates_c/%%8E^8EC^8ECF17FA%%inc_exec_show_tc_exec.tpl.php - Line 194
E_NOTICE Undefined index: g_bugInterfaceOn - in /var/www/testlinkq/testlink-1.9.2/gui/templates_c/%%8E^8EC^8ECF17FA%%inc_exec_show_tc_exec.tpl.php - Line 265
E_NOTICE Trying to get property of non-object - in /var/www/testlinkq/testlink-1.9.2/gui/templates_c/%%63^630^6304EC63%%inc_exec_test_spec.tpl.php - Line 93
E_NOTICE Undefined index: args_cfg - in /var/www/testlinkq/testlink-1.9.2/gui/templates_c/%%63^630^6304EC63%%inc_exec_test_spec.tpl.php - Line 93

so far these logs where quite helpful showing us wrong settings in the cfg files. But there are no more errors/warnings regarding any of the cfg files but just those gui/templates_c php files that seem like temporary, at runtime generated files with no config info to me..
KimYong
TestLink user
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:56 am

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by KimYong »

Hi

I hav been through the same situation as yours and now I m b able to solve the problem.

My environment
TestLink ver. 1.9.2 integrated w/ Jira ver. 3.2.3 running on Linux server
TestLink DB : mysql
Jira DB : postgres

Here are my configurations on the custom_config file hope there might b sth useful for u
/////////////////// custom_config.inc.php //////////////////

$g_interface_bugs = 'JIRA'; // Old value 'NO';

$g_bugInterfaceOn = true; // Old value false;
$g_bugInterface = null;
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Configuration on jira.cfg.php
/////////////////// jira.cfg.php ////////////////////////////////

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:5432'); // i fill ip even it was localhost
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_NAME', 'jiradb');
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_USER', 'jirauser');
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_PASS', 'jirapass');
define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080/browse/");
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_TYPE', 'postgres');
define('BUG_TRACK_ENTER_BUG_HREF',"http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080/secure/CreateIssue.jspa");

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
greaze
Advanced user
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2008 4:03 pm

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by greaze »

Hi
I intend to integrate JIRA with testlink using SOAP configurations.
Can anyone please let me know if the integration will work if Testlink is secured with server side SSL (https)
boed
TestLink user
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:12 am

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by boed »

Hi ppineda,

Thanks for your detailed explanation on the problem. May i know how you give your <our_TestLink_server> permission to access <our_JIRA_server> ?

I encounter the same problem as yours. Thanks for your kind help. I really appreciate it.

@Kim Yong: I have tried your method, however, it does not work in my case. Did you do other changes also? Thanks
aostad
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:32 pm

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by aostad »

Jira-soap should be used, not Jira.
aostad
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 8:32 pm

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by aostad »

BTW, if jira server is down or you don't use admin username/passwd of jira in your jira-soap configuration file, you may not be able connect to jira server, so no icon will show up. In Jira, one person can be super user/super admin and give admin right to many others users. Make sure the credential used in jira soap has admin right.
pmqa2012
TestLink user
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 9:49 pm

Re: Integration jira and TestLink

Post by pmqa2012 »

Hi all,
We are trying to integrate Jira 4 + Testlink 1.9 and so far no luck ! The bug icon doesn't show up when test case is failed. Anybody can sort me out here please?

Steps done:
1) Edited the confic.inc.php file with $g_interface_bugs = 'JIRA'; (Also tried JIRASOAP after enabling soap interface on jira system, but that dint work either)
2) Made all necessary changes in cfg/jira.cfg.php as follows:

/** The name of the database that contains the jira tables */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_NAME', 'jira');

/** The DB type being used by jira */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_USER', 'pmacharla');

/** The DB password to use for connecting to the jira db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_PASS', 'xxxxxxx');

/** link of the web server for jira */
define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://<ipaddress>:8080/secure/Dashboard.jspa");
//define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://<ipaddress>:8080/browse/");

/** The DB type to use for connecting to the bugtracking db */
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_TYPE', 'mysql');

/** link to the bugtracking system, for entering new bugs */
define('BUG_TRACK_ENTER_BUG_HREF',"http://<ipaddress>:8080/secure/CreateIssue.jspa/");

3) Verfied that jira db connection using toad and it works fine, to ensure that the values in step 3 actually work
4) Also edited custom_confic.inc.php and added $g_interface_bugs = 'JIRA';
5) Lastly tried all which is mentioned in the above comments as well

Restarted the servers after every config change.

Nothing seems to work so far. I am wondering if anybody was able to successfully integrate Testlink1.9 with Jira 4 .

Help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Post Reply