Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] Performance Issue on test execution

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 4:51 pm
by tlhk
Testlink was working well until recently we hit a perfomrnace problem.

When I click on test execution, and any test case on the left side, the right side takes about 30 seconds to load up.. this is very annoying. This does not happen on the test specification screen - only on test execution.

Any idea how to quickly fix this??

I did some troubleshooting:
* I restored a almost blank TL database and still having the issue, so I am ruling out a problem with the data for the time being

From the apache log, I can see it is running the following

Code: Select all

127.0.0.1 - - [30/Apr/2012:11:42:16 +0800] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 - "-" "Apache/2.2.15 (Fedora) (internal dummy connection)"
10.72.1.41 - - [30/Apr/2012:11:41:10 +0800] "GET /home/testlink_demo/lib/execute/execSetResults.php?version_id=467&level=testcase&id=466&form_token=1602407159&setting_build=41&filter_assigned_user=a:1:{i:0;i:0;}&filter_assigned_user_include_unassigned=0 HTTP/1.1" 200 24211 "http://hkstarfox/home/testlink_demo/lib/execute/execNavigator.php" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; GTB7.3; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; .NET4.0C; AskTbORJ/5.14.1.20007)"
10.72.1.41 - - [30/Apr/2012:11:42:36 +0800] "GET /home/testlink_demo/gui/themes/default/css/custom.css HTTP/1.1" 404 325 "http://hkstarfox/home/testlink_demo/lib/execute/execSetResults.php?version_id=467&level=testcase&id=466&form_token=1602407159&setting_build=41&filter_assigned_user=a:1:{i:0;i:0;}&filter_assigned_user_include_unassigned=0" "Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; GTB7.3; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; .NET4.0C; AskTbORJ/5.14.1.20007)"
\
Also, tried typing the following on web browser.. it took a long time (20+ seconds) to return anything:

Code: Select all

http://hkstarfox/home/testlink_demo/lib/execute/execSetResults.php
What logic does this got stuck in???

Re: Performance Issue on test execution

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:46 am
by tlhk
I FIXED IT!!! YEAH>!!!!! :P

The problem is that I am integrating with JIRA.. and the JIRA is so damn slow... perhaps this is a problem with testlink architecture as well... everytime I load up a test case, it query JIRA to check if there is associated BUG.. but this is taking a long time... and most of the time, there is no BUG associated with a test execution.

Re: Performance Issue on test execution

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:51 am
by fman
Integration with BTS, may be has to be refactored.
Anyway if you are going to enable it, you need to know that you will have to pay a price.
What type of integration are you using ?
Direct ACCESS to JIRA DB ?
Integration via SOAP ?

Re: [SOLVED] Performance Issue on test execution

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:52 am
by tlhk
I am using Direct DB.. another issue is my TL host is in Asia and the JIRA host is in Europe :-(

Re: [SOLVED] Performance Issue on test execution

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 2:15 am
by tlhk
fman,

In fact, I agree to refactoring the code with relation to any BTS, and it is quite simple to do, this is my suggestion:

All the integration with BTS is tracked in the execution_bugs table, so anytime a user click on an execution, it will check whether this execution ID existed in the execution_bugs table, if not, no connection to BTS is ever needed... it will only connect to BTS if the execution id is found on this table.

I think this will make significant performance improvement because any connection to an external system should be considered expensive.

Let me know if you need help on developing this feature.

thx,
Terry