[mySQL] Link Testcase to Testplan

LATEST Official version.
Questions and discussions - NO ISSUES
FOR ISSUES => http://mantis.testlink.org

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Post Reply
mfranke
TestLink user
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 5:10 pm

[mySQL] Link Testcase to Testplan

Post by mfranke »

Hello,

the main goal is to move my testplan from one Testproject to another Testproject. As the testlink-import-function has only imported like 500 from 1000 testcases via the import function I had to try it manually. So I have imported the Testcases and tried to link the newproject.tcversion_id to the testplan-id.

If I click on "Manage Testplans" there is the right count of testcases in my testplan. But if I click on execute (Build available) there is no single testcase available. Where is the problem here?

I tried to debug it in the sql log (see what happens if I add an testcase to an testplan via testlink), but it gives me the same query as I tried to insert it into the database.

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO testplan_tcversions (testplan_id,author_id,creation_ts,tcversion_id,platform_id)  VALUES (34546,75,'2015-07-03 16:52:24',27395, 1)
UPDATE testplan_tcversions SET node_order=0 WHERE testplan_id=34546 AND tcversion_id=27395


Note: I don't want to add all available testcases to the testplan


Any help is really appreciated!

Thanks,
nitramf
fman
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 3123
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: [mySQL] Link Testcase to Testplan

Post by fman »

>> the main goal is to move my testplan from one Testproject to another Testproject.
Test Plan contains references to test cases.
In order to move a test plan to another test project you need
1) create all test cases linked to the SOURCE TESPLAN to the TARGET TEST PROJECT
2) then you have to link the test cases to the NEW TESTPLAN present on TARGET TEST PROJECT.

It would be better FIRST to solve the import issue that can be related to TIMEOUTS and MEMORY LIMITS, before start trying to proceed via SQL.
(create issue on mantis and provide you XML EXPORT FILES)

Anyway if you give a look to the DB SCHEMA (there are several posts in this forum and a ticket on mantis) you will be able to understand whole
table relationships and solve your problem.

One option to understand what to do is do some experiments with TWO SIMPLE TEST PROJECTS with no more than 3/4 test cases inside and also SIMPLE TEST PLANS, then checking what happens BEFORE and AFTER using the TESTLINK provided features will allow you to understand how to write your SQL sentences
mfranke
TestLink user
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 5:10 pm

Re: [mySQL] Link Testcase to Testplan

Post by mfranke »

Thank you!

I have noticed a little but important bug:

The testcase export function does work as expected, but the import-function has some problems.

The testcase gets imported but the version number is always "1", even if the import-xml-file says "2" or like that.

So the bottomline is that the testcase import function does not care about the version number.
fman
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 3123
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:19 am

Re: [mySQL] Link Testcase to Testplan

Post by fman »

if you think there is a issue please
1) get latest code from github, do fresh install and restest
2) if still seems that there is an issue => please open an issue on mantis will all detailed steps to reproduce
Post Reply