Testlink 1.7 does not talk to Mantis 1.0.5 ?

The release related discussions, plans and questions.
Locked
Ajia
TestLink user
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:14 pm

Testlink 1.7 does not talk to Mantis 1.0.5 ?

Post by Ajia »

My system is set like this:
Mantis: Mac OS X 10,4, MySQL 5.0, PHP5, IP:172.19.4.13
Testlink: Mac OS X 10.4, MySQL 5.0, PHP5, IP: 172.19.8.72

These two system individually works great. But I cannot make them talk. The error message is: "Connection to your Bug Tracking System has failed:
Please check your configuration."
Please take a look at my cfg files below, and point to me where I did wrong:

====== cfg/mantis.cfg.php
<?php
/**
* TestLink Open Source Project - http://testlink.sourceforge.net/
*/

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', 'http://172.19.3.14');

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_NAME', 'mantis_bugs');

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_TYPE', 'mysql');

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_USER', 'metisqa');
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_PASS', 'dbadmin');

define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://172.19.3.14/view_all_bug_page.php ");

define('BUG_TRACK_ENTER_BUG_HREF',"http://172.19.3.14/mantis");
?>

====== custom_config.inc.php
<?php

$g_interface_bugs='MANTIS';

?>

======= config_inc.php (on Mantis machine)
<?php
.......
# Allow anonymous login
$g_allow_anonymous_login = ON;
$g_anonymous_account = 'alien';
......

?>
schlundus
TestLink user
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:03 pm

Post by schlundus »

remove the "http://"
in
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', 'http://172.19.3.14');

it's a db host and not a web server (-:
Ajia
TestLink user
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:14 pm

Post by Ajia »

Thank you for pointing out a mistake. But after I changed to define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', '172.19.3.14');
it still does not work.
I also tried use that computer's name, but no difference.
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', 'mantis.local');

Any other possible problem?
schlundus
TestLink user
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 8:03 pm

Post by schlundus »

Hm, maybe a typo ? You wrote:


My system is set like this:
Mantis: Mac OS X 10,4, MySQL 5.0, PHP5, IP:172.19.4.13
and

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_HOST', 'http://172.19.3.14');

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_NAME', 'mantis_bugs');

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_TYPE', 'mysql');

define('BUG_TRACK_DB_USER', 'metisqa');
define('BUG_TRACK_DB_PASS', 'dbadmin');

define('BUG_TRACK_HREF', "http://172.19.3.14/view_all_bug_page.php ");

define('BUG_TRACK_ENTER_BUG_HREF',"http://172.19.3.14/mantis");
?>


Please check this too?
Ajia
TestLink user
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:14 pm

Post by Ajia »

Thank you, Schlundus. I am sorry for the typo. The IPs in the configuration file are correct.

I couldn't make TL link to Mantis, so finally I TL and Mantis to one computer, then TL can talk to Mantis.

I noticed that Mantis database server does not allow other host (like IP address or other computer name) connect to its database server, but "localhost" can. I guess there is someway to make that connection happen.

So far, I am good to have them work.

Merry Christmas.
havlatm
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:24 am
Location: Czech

Post by havlatm »

mysql differs local users and remote users. It seems that you have defined user just for local connection.
Ajia
TestLink user
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:14 pm

Post by Ajia »

Havlatm,

If you know how to let both local and remote computers access the same mysql, I will appreciate it. I did not do anything with MySQL after installing it. Thanks.
havlatm
Member of TestLink Community
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 1:24 am
Location: Czech

Post by havlatm »

Look at for example:
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/ ... users.html

Install phpMyAdmin or execute shell command to create a user ... or to modify the current one.
There is defined in database for connection <your_testlink_user_name>@localhost
but must be
<testlink_user_name>@<your_server>
Locked