Page 1 of 1

How do you handle obsolete Testcases?

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 7:36 am
by Joe_Patroni
Hello,

Working with 1.9.3 here, i was looking at old TCs which haven't been taken cared of for a while. So i did a new Version, but there are Testcases which i really don't need anymore, because the funcionality of our product has been changed.

Now, how do you handle these obsolete TCs? Deactivating them was my first idea, but deactivation only affects the version, not the TC itself. If i deactivate the TC (that is: the newest version), then the older (still active) version appears in "Add / Remove Test cases to Test Plan". Is there a configuration you can set that you only see TCs in testplan assignment which newest version is active?

I'm aware of another method, just creat a Testsuite "obsolete" and move the TC in there, but i was wondering if we could use the Deactivation status for this.

cya,
Joe

Re: How do you handle obsolete Testcases?

Posted: Mon Sep 03, 2012 9:17 am
by fman
>> Is there a configuration you can set that you only see TCs in testplan assignment which newest version is active?
NO

You have to set ALL versions as INACTIVE.

Re: How do you handle obsolete Testcases?

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:53 pm
by Amaradana
another workaround deactivate and create a folder called obselete and move to it