Why Notes are not showing in GUI when Import Test Results
Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers
-
- TestLink user
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 pm
Why Notes are not showing in GUI when Import Test Results
Hello,
Currently, I am using TL 1.8.2. When I tried to import the test results to TL, the 'notes/description' was not showing my messages under Execute Tab. Other results like Status etc were imported though. Here is my XML file to be imported. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? In fact, 'notes' was updated in DB; but it was not showing in GUI.
<testcase id="27">
<!-- <tester>yan</tester> -->
<!-- <timestamp>2008-09-08 14:00:00</timestamp> -->
<result>f</result>
<notes>this case failed due to error </notes>
</testcase>
<testcase external_id="demo-1">
<result>p</result>
<notes>this case passed </notes>
</testcase>
</results>
Thanks for any help!
Regards,
Ann
Currently, I am using TL 1.8.2. When I tried to import the test results to TL, the 'notes/description' was not showing my messages under Execute Tab. Other results like Status etc were imported though. Here is my XML file to be imported. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong? In fact, 'notes' was updated in DB; but it was not showing in GUI.
<testcase id="27">
<!-- <tester>yan</tester> -->
<!-- <timestamp>2008-09-08 14:00:00</timestamp> -->
<result>f</result>
<notes>this case failed due to error </notes>
</testcase>
<testcase external_id="demo-1">
<result>p</result>
<notes>this case passed </notes>
</testcase>
</results>
Thanks for any help!
Regards,
Ann
-
- TestLink user
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 pm
Adding link in the notes for results.
I found the Notes. It is not showing in Notes/Description part. I was looking the wrong part.
I have a question: I want to add hyperlink inside the Notes. Can anyone give me help? Here is my input result XML file. I want "http://www.yahoo.com" showed up as link. Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.
<testcase external_id="demo-2">
<result>p</result>
<notes><![CDATA[<html><a href="http://www.yahoo.com";>yahoo</a></html>]]></notes>
</testcase>
Thanks,
Ann
I have a question: I want to add hyperlink inside the Notes. Can anyone give me help? Here is my input result XML file. I want "http://www.yahoo.com" showed up as link. Any suggestion will be greatly appreciated.
<testcase external_id="demo-2">
<result>p</result>
<notes><![CDATA[<html><a href="http://www.yahoo.com";>yahoo</a></html>]]></notes>
</testcase>
Thanks,
Ann
-
- TestLink user
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 pm
-
- TestLink user
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 pm
Hi,
Currently, I modify the custom.inc.php file to use different editor type instead of default none and it seems solving my problem. But, the other Notes/Description part also uses this new editor with toolbars. Is any way I can put remove toolbar? Also, is my way the right way to do it?
Thanks,
Ann
Currently, I modify the custom.inc.php file to use different editor type instead of default none and it seems solving my problem. But, the other Notes/Description part also uses this new editor with toolbars. Is any way I can put remove toolbar? Also, is my way the right way to do it?
Thanks,
Ann
-
- TestLink user
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 pm
Thank you for your reply.
Here comes another problem
In either of Tinymce and FCKeditor, after the results are imported, the hyperlink does not go to anywhere when I click the log link. Here is XML I used for 'notes':
<notes><![CDATA[<html><p>this case passed and log is at <a href="\\gtsnowball\System_Test\Automation\gtsystst_logs\yl_logs\multisession.html" target="_blank">LOG Link</a></p></html>]]></notes>
and 'http://158.218.103.12/testlink/\\gtsnowball\System_Test\...' showed up in the bottom of the page.
But, when I import the following notes, it works fine and 'yahoo' link does go to Yahoo link.
<notes><![CDATA[<html><p>hello<a href="http://www.yahoo.com";>yahoo</a></p></html>]]></notes>
When I copy the whole string "\\gtsnowball\..." into Firefox, it works fine.
Do you know how I can fix this problem? Could you tell me where could be the problem? why 'http://158.218.103.12/testlink/' is added before my html file path?
Thanks so much,
Ann
Here comes another problem

In either of Tinymce and FCKeditor, after the results are imported, the hyperlink does not go to anywhere when I click the log link. Here is XML I used for 'notes':
<notes><![CDATA[<html><p>this case passed and log is at <a href="\\gtsnowball\System_Test\Automation\gtsystst_logs\yl_logs\multisession.html" target="_blank">LOG Link</a></p></html>]]></notes>
and 'http://158.218.103.12/testlink/\\gtsnowball\System_Test\...' showed up in the bottom of the page.
But, when I import the following notes, it works fine and 'yahoo' link does go to Yahoo link.
<notes><![CDATA[<html><p>hello<a href="http://www.yahoo.com";>yahoo</a></p></html>]]></notes>
When I copy the whole string "\\gtsnowball\..." into Firefox, it works fine.
Do you know how I can fix this problem? Could you tell me where could be the problem? why 'http://158.218.103.12/testlink/' is added before my html file path?
Thanks so much,
Ann
-
- TestLink user
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 pm
Code: Select all
"\\gtsnowball\..."
This is not valid URL! Check standards or web. It should look like file:///gts...
But why you referring to a file in your own computer? It is not usable by your colleagues.
-
- TestLink user
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:08 pm
I just changed my XML input as:
<notes><![CDATA[<p>this case passed and log is at <a href="file:///gtsnowball/System_Test/Automation/gtsystst_logs/yl_logs/yl/GT5SLTR61/Multisession_06_01_2009_15_08_41/multisession.html" target="_blank">LOG Link</a></p>]]></notes>
After I import, when I click the link, the following is showed at the bottom:
"file:///gtsnowball/System_Test/...". But, still does not open my html page. What could be wrong?
To answer your question:
//gtsnowball/.../xxx.html is not resided in my local pc; it is a server which everybody in our company can access to it.
Thanks for your time,
Ann
<notes><![CDATA[<p>this case passed and log is at <a href="file:///gtsnowball/System_Test/Automation/gtsystst_logs/yl_logs/yl/GT5SLTR61/Multisession_06_01_2009_15_08_41/multisession.html" target="_blank">LOG Link</a></p>]]></notes>
After I import, when I click the link, the following is showed at the bottom:
"file:///gtsnowball/System_Test/...". But, still does not open my html page. What could be wrong?
To answer your question:
//gtsnowball/.../xxx.html is not resided in my local pc; it is a server which everybody in our company can access to it.
Thanks for your time,
Ann