is it possible to customize the main page?

1.8 related questions and discussions.
Please upgrade to LATEST 1.9.x.
No more fixes for 1.8.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Locked
mikromel
TestLink user
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Slovak

is it possible to customize the main page?

Post by mikromel »

Hi there!

I'm using testlink for about a week now and i'm really satisfied with the product. All is working fine till now and all needed configuration is a piece of cake.

The only thing I didn't find (not even in the documentation) is the configuration of the main page and i'm not sure if it is even possible (without making some big changes in html/php).

So my question is, if it is possible (or will be) to customize the main page? I mean something like to rearange the menu, display some messages etc.

thx for the reply...
mikromel
difool
Advanced user
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:08 am

Post by difool »

Adapt the layout is possible but heavy work imho.

But adapt main page to add informations is easily made.

Here is my method.

In \lib\general\mainpage.php

Before:

Code: Select all

$smarty->display('mainPage.tpl');
Add:

Code: Select all

$smarty->assign('BBIuser',$currentUser);
$smarty->assign('BBIproject',$_SESSION['testprojectName']);
It allows to use some variables in the template which will be rendererd, here i transmit an user object and the current project name.


In \gui\templates\mainpage.tpl

Before:

Code: Select all

</body>
</html>
Add:

Code: Select all

<center>
<br>
<font size=3 color="#445577">
Bienvenue {$BBIuser->firstName} dans votre espace TestLink - Indus.<br>
Vous &ecirc;tes actuellement sur le projet <b>{$BBIproject}</b><br>qui poss&egrave;de <b>{$countPlans}</b> plan(s) de test en cours.<br><br>
</font><font size=2 color="#334466">
<i>Pour changer de projet de travail utilisez le s&eacute;lecteur de projet <b>Projet de test</b><br>
en haut &agrave; droite de votre &eacute;cran.</i>
</center>
<br>
&nbsp;<u>Rappel:</u><br>
<br>
&nbsp;&bull;&nbsp;Pour d&eacute;finir vos sp&eacute;cifications fonctionnelles, utilisez le choix <b>G&eacute;rez les dossiers d'exigences</b> du menu de gauche <b>Exigences fonctionnelles</b>.<br>
&nbsp;&bull;&nbsp;Pour d&eacute;finir vos cas de test, utilisez le menu <b>Sp&eacute;cification</b> dans la barre de menu en haut.<br>
&nbsp;&bull;&nbsp;Pour d&eacute;finir vos plans de test et sessions de tests, utilisez le choix <b>Gestion des plans de test</b> et le choix <b>Administration des campagnes</b> du menu de droite <b>Administration des plans de test</b>.<br>
&nbsp;&bull;&nbsp;Pour ex&eacute;cuter une campagne de test, utilisez le menu <b>Ex&eacute;cution</b> dans la barre de menu en haut.<br>
&nbsp;&bull;&nbsp;Pour consulter les r&eacute;sultats d'une campagne de test, utilisez le menu <b>R&eacute;sultats</b> dans la barre de menu en haut.<br>
</font>
It allows to put a welcome notice with current user first name and current test project name and current test project active test plans count. I added a small quick help also.

BTW, use the current CSS and localize strings to do a clean work ;)
mikromel
TestLink user
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:51 am
Location: Slovak

Post by mikromel »

thx for the reply.

i will try it out to see the outcome.
Locked