Page 1 of 1

Removing test case id from the treeview

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:07 pm
by Knorrium
Hello,

I would like to remove the test case id from the treeview (and other places as well), but I couldn't find my way through the template files.

My idea is to organize the tests like this:

TS01 - Manage Users
--TC01 - Create User
--TC02 - Delete User

TS02 - Manage Roles
--TC01 - Create Role
--TC02 - Delete Role

Using "TC" as the prefix in Test Link does not work because a global, automatically generated ID is used, resulting into something like this:

TS01 - Manage Users
--tc121 TC01 - Create User
--tc134 TC02 - Delete User

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks in advance,
FK

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 7:30 pm
by shm2bk
Hello
In the config-file [testlink\config.inc.php] you see the following text

/** show/hide testcase id on tree menu */
$tlCfg->treemenu_show_testcase_id = True;

When you change True to False, the ID-number in the tree view is gone.

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2009 8:42 pm
by Knorrium
Thanks! That worked for the test tree.

Is there any easy way to remove the test case ID from the rest of the system as well?

FK

Re: Removing test case id from the treeview

Posted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:53 am
by radhoo
@ Knorrium

Yes there is, you have to edit the template file *.tpl. I will write a small tutorial in the next days here.

Re: Removing test case id from the treeview

Posted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:32 am
by radhoo
Ok, so to remove the ID from the reports follow this tutorial, it's really short.

Re: Removing test case id from the treeview

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:35 pm
by raghurams
I tried to implement the steps mentioned to remove the test case id from the results, but there is no change in it. Is there any more steps that need to be performed to remove test case id (internal) from results section?

Re: Removing test case id from the treeview

Posted: Tue Nov 02, 2010 5:13 pm
by Amaradana
Set this to false

$tlCfg->treemenu_show_testcase_id = false;

Re: Removing test case id from the treeview

Posted: Wed Nov 03, 2010 5:19 am
by raghurams
Thanks for the reply.

After changing the status to false, I am able to see the change in tree menu of specification and execution tabs for test cases. Please suggest me how to remove internal test case id from the results section as well.
I tried the steps mentioned by radhoo, but not able to see any change in the results(I mean I am able to see both the Internal and External id when i generate a report).

Re: Removing test case id from the treeview

Posted: Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:57 am
by radhoo
raghurams, send me an email to popescuradhoo@yahoo.com in order to give you my files and try them on. if you have 1.8.5.