Increase size of steps and expected results textarea

Ask community to help.

Moderators: Amaradana, TurboPT, TL Developers

Post Reply
bcharloup
TestLink user
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: Mayenne, France

Increase size of steps and expected results textarea

Post by bcharloup »

Hello,

there was a previous post about this subject (http://www.teamst.org/forum/viewtopic.p ... 2070#p4266), but as it was more than 2 years old, perhaps, with new release of testlink (i'm using TL 1.8.5) a solution exists now.

In my TC edition screen, i have placed horizontally steps and expected results textarea (fckeditor), by this way, i can visualy synchronize actions and results (i have also update FCKEditor tool bar to include FitWindow option, but with such size, i can't see simultaneous steps and expected results textarea).
The problem is the size (the height) of these textarea. Is is possible to increase this height without increasing height of summary textarea ?

The modification i have made in custom_config.inc.php ($tlCfg->gui->text_editor['design'] = array('height' => '600'); ) change the height of the 3 textarea within the screen.

Does this modification possible by modifying tpl, php, or css or other file ? (sorry, i'm not a php developper and i have some difficulties in reading source file).

Thanks in advance for any help.
metwo
TestLink user
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: Increase size of steps and expected results textarea

Post by metwo »

Hi,

My problem is similar - I want the set the test suite Details page to much more than 200px without changing everything else.
I was hoping there would be a simple patch that allowed the height to be set differently for each window.


Thanks.
metwo
TestLink user
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:45 pm

Re: Increase size of steps and expected results textarea

Post by metwo »

I know that time remaining on 1.8.5 is limited, but I just implemented a hack to make test case and test suite boxes different sizes.

"Borrowed" from another post, but modified to work with 1.8.5 and added way more room for editing test suite details.
I'm not a developer - but this resolved the issue for me.


In config.inc.php add the following lines:

Code: Select all

$g_testcase_height->summary = "120"; 
$g_testcase_height->steps = "350"; 
$g_testcase_height->expected_results = "200";
$g_testcase_height->details = "500";
Test case: In lib/testcases/tcEdit.php override the default heights for summary/steps/expected_results:

Code: Select all

    626     $owe->editor = array();
+++         $my_height = config_get('testcase_height');
    627     foreach ($owe->cfg as $key => $value)
    628     {
    629         $owe->editor[$key] = web_editor($key,$basehref,$editorCfg);
+++             if (isset($my_height->$key))
+++                $owe->editor[$key]->Height = $my_height->$key;
    630     }

Test suite: In lib/testcase/containerEdit.php override the default height for the details:

Code: Select all

    784     $oWebEditor = array();
+++         $my_height = config_get('testcase_height');
    785     foreach ($htmlNames as $key)
    786     {
    787       $oWebEditor[$key] = web_editor($key,$_SESSION['basehref'],$editorCfg);
+++           if (isset($my_height->$key))
+++              $oWebEditor[$key]->Height = $my_height->$key;
    788     }
(inserted the lines prefixed with "+++")
bcharloup
TestLink user
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: Mayenne, France

Re: Increase size of steps and expected results textarea

Post by bcharloup »

It works fine !

Thanks a lot.

--
Bruno
Post Reply